Wayne State University

Aim Higher

Child Image 6

Check-In


Welcome New Students!

Now that you have arrived -- the OISS staff wants to meet you.  You should complete one of the following mandatory, Immigration 101 and Check-In, sessions:
 
Spring/Summer 2015 Check-In Dates are as follows:
  • Tuesday, April 7, 2015 @ 10:30am & 1:30pm
  • Thursday, April 9, 2015 @ 10:30am & 1:30pm
  • Tuesday, April 14, 2015 @ 10:30am & 1:30pm
  • Thursday, April 16, 2015 @ 10:30am & 1:30pm
  • Tuesday, April 21, 2015 @ 10:30am & 1:30pm
  • Thursday, April 23, 2015 @ 10:30am & 1:30pm
  • Tuesday, April 28, 2015 @ 10:30am & 1:30pm
  • Thursday, April 30, 2015 @ 10:30am & 1:30pm
  • Tuesday, May 5, 2015 @ 10:30am & 1:30pm
  • Thursday, May 7, 2015 @ 10:30am & 1:30pm
  • Tuesday, May 12, 2015 @ 10:30am & 1:30pm
  • Thursday, May 14, 2015 @ 10:30am & 1:30pm
You only need to attend one session.
 

Failure to complete the check-in process in a timely manner will result in cancellation/termination of your immigration documents (I-20) and Homeland Security will require you to return to your home country.
 
Immigration 101 and Check-In will provide you with important information and give you an opportunity to take care of required paperwork such as:
  • Purchasing Health Insurance
  • Taking your TB test or submitting your waiver and/or proof that you took the test

Please be sure to bring the following to the check-in session:

  • Your stamped I-20 (F-1 Students) or DS-2019 (J-1 Students)
  • Your Form I-94
  • Your Passport. (Canadian Citizens may use an enhanced driver license.)
  • Your Visa (excluding Canadian Citizens)
  • Proof of Canadian Citizenship (Canadian citizens only)
  • Local and foreign contacts.  (People to contact in case of an emergency.)
  • Dependent documents, if your dependents have entered the U.S. with you.
Feel free to contact OISS at (313) 577-3422 if you require additional information or send us an email at oissmail@wayne.edu. We look forward to seeing you.